11 Mar, 2021 03:30 am

Researchers And Scholars At The Top Of Their Fields Elected As Fellows

Researchers And Scholars At The Top Of Their Fields Elected As Fellows
Twenty-seven new Ngā Ahurei a Te Apārangi Fellows and Ngā Ahurei Honore a Te Apārangi Honorary Fellows have been elected to the Academy of the Royal Society Te Apārangi for their distinction in research and advancement of science, technology ...

The election of Honorary Fellows aims to encourage strong ties with leading international scientists and scholars and New Zealand’s research community.The new Honorary Fellows are: · Professor Penelope Brothers, Australian National University, Australia · Distinguished Professor Ravendra (Ravi) Naidu, University of Newcastle, Australia Professor Doug Armstrong is recognised as a key player behind New Zealand’s reputation as a world leader in the field of restoration ecology and reintroduction biology.This work directly influenced the New Zealand government’s goal of Predator Free New Zealand by 2050.Other Marsden-funded book projects include A New Zealand Book of Beasts: animals in our culture, history and everyday life from 2013 with Professors Annie Potts and Philip Armstrong and the soon to published Toi Te Mana: a history of Indigenous art from Aotearoa New Zealand with Associate Professor Ngarino Ellis and the late Professor Jonathan Mane-Wheoki.

Charles pioneered “red blood cell toxicants” and R&D leading to the registration of the lead compound in this class for stoat control in New Zealand.New Zealand’s fauna would not be as secure as it is today without his work.

Read full story at